Southern INDIANA high school BASKETBALL

JR Holmes
Dave Clark

Jerry Hoover - D1 Camps

The HBCA Hall of Excellence is a platform to honor various individuals who have made significant contributions through the years since the inception of the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association in 1986 to make high school basketball in Southern Indiana better for coaches, players, fans, etc.  These individuals listed on this page have truly helped to advance the association and its endeavors while truly making the game of basketball better in the process.




Faryl Armstrong - First HBCA Secretary
Jack Butcher - First HBCA Executive Director
Max Dean - First Assistant Executive Director
Robert Kluesner - First HBCA Publicity Director
Larry Martin - First HBCA Girls East Coordinator
Carolyn Pieper - First HBCA Girls West Coordinator
Hugh Schaefer - First HBCA Treasurer
Kevin Smith - HBCA Secretary-Treasurer

This class includes the inaugural board members of the Hoosier Basketball Coaches Association.  The HBCA genuinely appreciates the efforts of these individuals to get the association started.  These individuals still remain active within the association and their contributions and advice is instrumental to the continued success of the association and its endeavors.

These three men have played an integral part in the start up and growth of the HBCA, while promoting Indiana HS basketball at the highest level of character and integrity.

Inaugural Class



Kevin Oxley - Tecumseh High School
Misti Roberts
- Bedford, Indiana All-Star Classic Coordinator

The Trio


Ron Ferguson
Don Unruh
- New Albany Athletic Director
Walt Ferber
- Broadcaster for WITZ

David Chanley - HBCA President
Andy Igel - HBCA Executive Director
Jerrill Vandeventer - HBCA President


Kendall Wildey - Executive Director
Bob Howe
- Girls East Coordinator 

Steve Brett - HBCA President
John Church - HBCA 
Dave Worland - HBCA

Hall of Excellence